The First Four Notes

The First Four Notes

Beethoven's Fifth and the Human Imagination

Book - 2012
Average Rating:
Rate this:
"Music critic Matthew Guerrieri reaches back before Beethoven's time to examine what might have influenced him in writing his Fifth Symphony, and forward into our own time to describe the ways in which the Fifth has, in turn, asserted its influence."--
Publisher: New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2012.
ISBN: 9780307593283
Characteristics: xiii, 359 p. :,ill. ;,22 cm.


From the critics

Community Activity


Add a Comment

jcamenga Apr 06, 2016

Three G' s and an E flat (followed by three F's and a D) possibly the known phrase in classical music and the opening of Ludwig van Beethoven's Fifth Symphony. Matthew Guerrrieri takes us through how these four notes and the fire that follows have grabbed listeners in various countries throughout the world. The Romantics envisioned the opening motto as Fate knocking at the door. The three short notes one long note match the mores code for "V" as in victory so would be taken by the Allies as a symbol of their coming triumph in World War II. Of course in the 4th movement with the addition of the trombone section, Fate KICKS THE DOOR IN.

Age Suitability

Add Age Suitability

There are no age suitabilities for this title yet.


Add a Summary

There are no summaries for this title yet.


Add Notices

There are no notices for this title yet.


Add a Quote

There are no quotes for this title yet.

Explore Further

Browse by Call Number


Subject Headings


Find it at Library

To Top